6/27/2021 Update

After struggling my winter quarter, I am glad to be able to have a successful quarter this spring getting an A in my Chicano studies course, and a B in my real analysis class. Although that B is not the A I was hoping for, it is still a notable victory that is finally establishing an upward trajectory for my grades. This real analysis class also challenged me like no other class has before, but I still managed to do quite well so I am proud of how far I have come. I also gained a lot of enjoyment out of my classes and have been the most excited about continuing my math education in a long time. My desire to learn more math has significantly grown as a result, and I’m open to the prospect of graduate school, but I still want to considerably focus on becoming a marketable recruit upon my graduation.

I hope to use the recent momentum of my success to develop projects and portfolio pieces that will help me land an internship next summer. However, I have no idea how or where to even start this process, should I focus on applied math or computer science to be more marketable? With all that I can potentially learn, I am worried that all this choice will cause some stagnation in me beginning that process. My plan for the time being is to create some inspired resumes of mine for positions I am interested in, that way I can narrow down the skills and experience I will need to capture. Some of these positions may include: software developer, software development engineer in test, systems test engineer, quality engineer, and a quality assurance engineer.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a comment